Making Democracy Work

Civic Society

To Promote Civil Discourse on Civic Matters

What We Do?

The Civic Society is a support group of the League of Women Voters of Los Angeles, a 501 (c) (3) organization. We hold three salons each year for our Civic Society contributors who support the voter information, Youth Engagement Initiative, and other fine programs that the League engages in. We also thank the Civic Society contributors by inviting them to the League's annual "Celebrating Leadership" awards gala.

What are Salons?

The Civic Society Salons are held in private homes and include a light supper, with wine and dessert, and presentations by distinguished speakers on timely civic issues that are currently being discussed.

Previous speakers have been: LA Times columnist Tim Rutten, LA Harbor Commission President Cindy Misckowski,LAUSD Superintendent John Deasy, former LAPD Police Chief Bill Bratton, Dr. Raphael Sonenschein, Director of the Pat Brown Institute at CalState LA, Supervisor Zev Yaroslavsky, and many more.

Current Donors

The League would like to thank the Civic Society donors for their continuing support towards the Education Fund's programs.

Dotte Antelman
Barbara Archibald
Nancy Arnheim
Crissi Avila
Helaine Blatt
Harriet Borson
Thea Brodkin
Carryl Carter
Renee Chanon
Jean F. Cohen
Marcia Edelman
Sydelle Freeman
Carrie Hidding
Marilyn & Robert Johnson
Judy Jordan
Ann Reiss Lane
Fran & Al Lapides
Harriet Orkand
Francine Oschin
Joy Picus
Elizabeth Ralston
Mildred Ratner
Susan F. Rice
Lois Saffian
Gerald Sallus
Cecilia Schlesinger
Hermalee Schmidt
Madeleine Rose Schwab
Martha Sklar
Bob Stern
Elinor Turner
Liza White
Stuart White

How to get Involved?

People who wish to get involved with the Civic Society and support the programs of the LWVLA with their tax-deductible gift can make donations at three levels.

$1,000 Individual level: 3 salons for 1 person; 1 dinner ticket

□ $1,500 Dual Level: 3 salons for 2 people; 2 dinner tickets

□ $3,000 Civic Society Sponsor Level: 3 salons for 3 people; 3 dinner tickets; recognition on letterhead and at salons as a sponsor

You may download and mail the completed contribution form to our office at 3303 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 310 Los Angeles, CA 90010-1700. Or join online.


Your contribution to the League is tax deductible to the extent allowed by law. The non-tax-deductible part is the fair market value of the tickets to the gala. You will receive an official letter with that information following the event.